Alice in Chains - The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here | Skillshare Projects

B. Just B.

Some sort of guy/thing/dude. Interested in things.



Alice in Chains - The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here

Alice in Chains

Within any time period there are but a handful of voices that define the sub-cultures that awkwardly fumble to find their niche and become relevant. Regardless of medium or genre, the cornerstones of pop culture are few in number. In the early 1990s, grunge was one of those easily identifiable sub groups. It paved the way for the Gen-X to have a voice and slacker culture to rise. It spoke in voices that never quite fit in anywhere, resolved that it didn't belong, and maintained no small degree of sardonic pessimism regarding the downward trajectory which the world was spiraling. 

One of those voices spat a hopeless struggle under the moniker "Alice in Chains." Along with the likes of Nirvana, Soundgarden, Pearl Jam and others, Alice in Chains helped birth a scene forever etched in the annals of music history, and one that gave me something to relate to in my youth in discordant harmonies more crooning howl than song.

"I believe them bones are me. Some say we're born into the grave. I feel so alone, gonna end up a big old pile of them bones." - Alice in Chains-Them Bones

Lost and tortured by demons, lead singer Layne Staley would fall victim to the same fate as others of his ilk during a time when countless hordes of voiceless youths needed him most. He died in 2002. 

After a hiatus and solo projects, the band began recording again with guitarist and singer William DuVall, who has since proven to be phenomenally well suited to the sound established nearly two decades prior. Alice in Chains - Check My Brain

Later this month, the band will release its newest album, The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here, and it is my goal to create an album cover for this. 

Prior Album Art

Of the band's prior album art, there's a noticeable theme of isolation. One primary subject, rather directly related to the album's title (save for their fifth album, which was self-titled and featured a three-legged dog). That theme continues in the album art for their upcoming album

The track list for this album is as follows:

1. "Hollow" 
2. "Pretty Done" 
3. "Stone" 
4. "Voices" 
5. "The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here" 
6. "Lab Monkey" 
7. "Low Ceiling" 
8. "Breath on a Window" 
9. "Scalpel" 
10. "Phantom Limb" 
11. "Hung on a Hook" 
12. "Choke"

In addition, the band has released two videos ahead of the album's release. Ohe for the first track, Hollow, and additionally for the third song, Stone.


Please sign in or sign up to comment.